Green, Lawrence G; and Joan R Bienedell

Lawrence Green 27-book collection; and one other

Published: Howard Timmins and another, Cape Town,

Edition: See Description

Lot closed

Sold for: Register or Sign In to find out

Bids: 8

Visits: 79

Have a similar item to sell? Contact Us with the details.

How it works


All the books are illustrated. The following list of 27 Lawrence Green books are a near-complete collection. The titles are followed by the edition and a summary of condition. The summary does not include owners' names or dedications, which are on most copies. The author died a year after the publication of his last book (number 27 below).

  1. Secret Africa (1974 reprint) VG in VG jacket
  2. Strange Africa (1974 reprint) ditto
  3. Where Men Still Dream (Autobiography) 1946, second edition, G+, no jacket
  4. Where Men Still Dream (Autobiography) 1956 VG/VG. Completely revised with much new material
  5. So Few are Free 1946, first edition, VG, no jacket
  6. Tavern of the Seas 1947, first edition, VG/VG
  7. To the River's End 1950 reprint, VG/G
  8. In the Land of the Afternoon 1950 reprint, VG/G
  9. At Daybreak for the Isles 1950, first edition, VG, no jacket
  10. Grow Lovely, Growing Old 1951, first edition, VG/G
  11. Lords of the Last Frontier 1952, first edition, VG/VG
  12. Under a Sky Like Flame 1954, first edition, VG, no jacket
  13. Karoo 1955, first edition, G+, no jacket
  14. There's a Secret Hid Away 1981 reprint, VG/VG (ex-library)
  15. Beyond the City Lights 1957, first edition, VG/VG
  16. South African Beachcomber 1958, first edition, VG/VG
  17. These Wonders to Behold 1959, first edition, VG/VG
  18. Eight Bells at Salamander 1960, first edition, VG, no jacket
  19. Great North Road 1961, first edition VG, no jacket
  20. Something Rich and Strange 1980 reprint, VG/VG
  21. A Decent Fellow Doesn't Work 1963, first edition, VG/VG+
  22. I Heard the Old Men Say 1964, first edition, VG/VG
  23. Almost Forgotten, Never Told 1981 reprint, VG/VG
  24. Full Many a Glorious Morning, 1968, first edition, VG/VG
  25. Harbours of Memory 1969, first edition, VG/VG
  26. A Giant in Hiding 1970, first edition, VG/G+
  27. When the Journey's Over 1972, first edition, VG/VG (the only one of Green's books to include a pasted-in sheet of errata and acknowledgments)

The Lawrence G Green Where Is It? (self-published by the author; no date)

  • Sold By: Fontein Books
  • Contact Person: Richard Proctor-Sims
  • Country: South Africa
  • Email: [email protected]
  • Telephone: 051 773 0050/048 079 546 4032
  • Preferred Payment Methods: Eft (South Africa), SWIFT (rest of world), or $ checks for US or Australian buyers
  • Trade Associations: AA Approved

Similar lots in the current auction View all

Click on an item to view more details and to bid.

© 2024 Paul Mills trading as All rights reserved. Use of this website is regulated by our website Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.